Composite Materials | Industrial Laminates | Machined Components | Composite Tubes

The John Neal Award by the European Electrical Insulation Manufacturers

Attwater's technical manager Matt D’Arcy has joined a committee judging a prestigious international award.

The John Neal Award is given annually by the European Electrical Insulation Manufacturers (EEIM) in memory of one of its founding members.

The award, which is open to students, honours outstanding accomplishment in the field of solid and liquid electrical insulation materials and systems. Matt began attending EEIM meetings and decided he wanted to do more after the death of his mentor, Attwater technical director Tom Eland, in December 2013.

He is now on the committee, consisting of delegates selected by the members during the AGM, which reviews the applications from candidates who each submit a thesis from their own discipline. Criteria for judging include technical content and practical application for the industry.

The award will be given at the organisation’s 2015 AGM in Berlin.

The EEIM is a non-profit making professional body that counts many of the leading names in the electrical insulation industry among its members.